The Candy Aisle: Rummy Bears

Years ago I was asked if it would be possible for me to make a Reese’s Peanut Butter Cup flavored infusion.  I gave it some thought and decided I wasn’t sure, but I would give it a try. I few experiments yielded some positive results, but time & life took a toll and I had completely forgotten about this attempt until the other day when I [re]discovered an article for infusing Rummy Bears (==> LMGTFY).  Gummy Bears infused with Rum!!! I think I just found my new movie buddy.

As we are prone to do as we grow chronologically, this discovery lead to a plethora of nostalgic moments about all the great candy I used to consume as a child (and pretend I don’t as an adult). A mental sugar rush got me to thinking again about infusing different candy flavors into spirits. This time however, it will all be written in my handy-dandy notebook*, Infusiasm: The Blog, as a new blog series called ‘The Candy Aisle’.

Below is a quick overview/recipe for Rummy Bears. *cues Willy Wonka’s Pure Imagination*

-=-

Rummy Bears

1 pack of gummy bears (Haribo if you’re fancy)
Enough rum to cover them completely

–          place gummy bears in bottom of an air tight container
–          completely cover gummy bears in rum
–          seal container and place in fridge for 5 days
–          strain gummy bears from rum and enjoy.

-=-

The only trick to this is to not confuse them with the non-Rummy Bears, especially if there are children around. Have you ever seen a slightly intoxicated 5-year-old try to conquer the finer points of motor skills? Me neither, though I image its similar to this. But I highly recommend not finding out.

Enjoy!

*if you are judging me for the reference I am In turn judging you for catching it.

Leave a Reply

