Drink of the Week: Riviera

 

Riviera

 

If you don’t know me, I’m quirky. I’d love to say I’m “not normal” so that it will make sense to most people, but I don’t believe in the concept of normalcy. In picking a last drink for August I decided I wanted to try something that itself was quirky. I found this recipe in the back of my books that I had held onto for some time and decided this would be the perfect time to give it a try. It’s a drink that combines elements that just don’t seem to go together: Pineapple, Gin, Egg. It understandably sounds odd but when it all comes together it is a perfectly refreshing blend.

 

Riviera
(by Toby Maloney, from The Violet Hour)

2.0 oz. pineapple infused gin
.75 oz. fresh lemon juice
.75 oz. simple syrup
1 egg white
orange bitters
1 mint leaf

– combine ingredients in a shaker and dry shake (approx. 30 sec)
– add ice then shake well
– strain into chilled cocktail glass
– dash of bitters on top of foam
garnish: mint leaf

Enjoy.

–          DMM

 

Leave a Reply

