DOTW: The Fred Couples

I’m not a huge gin person so that translates into “there is always some gin available at my house cause I don’t drink it much and one of my good friends, BL, always leaves his.” Deciding to be a bit adventurous with the spoils of drunken nights past, I made an infused gin. ‘Gin and Lemonade’ has always been my go to when gin is my only option, so of course starting down that path lead me to the drink of the week.

-=-

The Fred Couples

3 oz. cran-apple-infused gin
5 oz. lemonade
1 oz. iced tea
2-3 sprigs fresh mint
¼ oz. simple syrup
garnish: lemon wheel

-=-

Directions:

– muddle mint, simple syrup and iced tea in a cocktail shaker
– fill with ice and add the rest of the ingredients
– shake vigorously
– double strain over fresh ice in a Collins glass

-=-

This drink is a great balance of light summer refreshment meets earthly brisk fall. Starting to reconsider gin.

*random: I was going to name this drink the Jan-Derksen but decided to go British instead of Dutch… *

Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

