DOTW: Infused Hot Toddy

I remember once being told whiskey was the best medicine for a cold. Mind you, the advice came from a drunken Irish bartender friend of mine, but he might as well have been a doctor as I sat at the bar catatonic one winter before a Friday night shift. Across the bar slid a hot toddy. Now I am no fan of tea, but little did I know that heaven’s medicine man came in a glass had arrived. Of course I later realized I felt no better, I was just simply feeling the effect of the liquid courage in my cup. Years later, I still partake every once in a while, but with a bit of a twist.

-=-

20121231-143216.jpg

Infused Hot Toddy

Ingredients:
– 2 ounces water
– 1 ½ ounce black-tea-infused whiskey
– 1 tbsp. honey
– ¼ ounce lemon simple syrup

Directions:
– bring water to a boil in a small sauce pan (or microwave)
– add honey and lemon simple syrup to the bottom of Irish whiskey glass (or coffee mug)
– add hot water and stir until honey dissolves
– add whiskey and stir to mix
Garish: cinnamon stick and lemon wheel

-=-

Black tea is the classic choice in a Hot Toddy, but any citrusy tea will also play very well with the honey and lemon notes. For an added twist, drop a clove or two in the hot water while boiling it. MMM

**January 11th is National Hot Toddy Day. Seems like a fitting post to me!**

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

